About

The Utah Medical Education Council (UMEC) was created in 1997 out of a need to secure and stabilize the state’s supply of health care clinicians.  The enabling legislation authorized the UMEC to conduct health care workforce research, to advise on Utah’s health care training needs, and to influence graduate medical education financing policies.  In addition, UMEC facilitates the training of healthcare professionals in rural areas of the state.  The state legislature expanded UMEC’s research responsibilities in 2013 to include nursing and UMEC has accepted the designation as the Nursing Workforce Information Center. The UMEC is presided over by an eight-member board appointed by the Governor to bridge the gap between the health care workforce industry and educational interests.

 Members of the UMEC include:

Wayne Samuelson, M.D.(Chair)
Vice Dean, School of Medicine
University of Utah
wayne.samuelson@hsc.utah.edu
C. Gregory Elliott, M.D.
Intermountain Healthcare
greg.elliott_md@imail.org
John Berneike, M.D.
Director, Family Practice Residency Program
Utah Health Care Institute
jberneike@utahhealthcare.org
Douglas D. Gray, M.D.
School of Medicine
University of Utah
douglas.gray@hsc.utah.edu
Mark Hiatt, M.D., MBA, MS
Vice President of Medical Affairs
Guardant Health
mhiatt@guardanthealth.com
Mary Williams, RN, Ph.D.
Public Member
mary_williams@byu.edu
Sue Wilkey, DNP, RN
Public Member
wilkey@infowest.com
Gar Elison
Public Member
garelison@gmail.com